Who else can see how I've been using the BBC?
Generally only you can see how you’ve been using the BBC, unless for example:
- You do something public, like comment on a BBC story
- You give us permission to share your info with another service. Like opening a track from BBC Sounds on another music service such as Spotify
- You ask us to share information. Like when you share something on social media
- When we need to share it for legal reasons
We might also share information to collaborate with research partners, or if it’s necessary to provide the service you’re using. For example, we use a third party to send our email newsletters.
We share some of your personal information with TV Licensing, to check if you are using BBC iPlayer and to keep their database up to date. Find out more about when you need a TV Licence.